Hello Again!

Long time, no post! Clearly, I have been very dedicated to all of my resolutions! I’ll be the first to admit that I have slacked off quite a bit with my posting, but the good news is that I have been successful (for the most part) in holding myself to my other new year promises. This year has been filled with a lot of happiness, excitement, change, good food, great literature, even better music, and more fashion thus far. Although it appears I’ve neglected to share with my readers (whom I appreciate very much!), I have been keeping up to date with the ever evolving fashion world.It’s said that those who ignore history are doomed to repeat it. In many cases, this expression tends to embody negative connotation. However, as Spring 2016 trends begin to expose themselves, it appears, in my opinion, that in this case history repeating itself isn’t such a bad things after all! For all of you readers whose parents, or whom themselves, are from the twentieth century, you are familiar with Adidas sneakers. Well, it’s time to pull them back out of their boxes, and blow the dust away, because they are in fact making a popular come back; I must admit that I hardly wear any other shoe now a days. Jean jackets, plaid skirts, furry shirts, and “scrunchies” are in the midst of being revived as well. It would seem that the 90’s are being born again. I look to one of my all time favorite movies, Clueless, and its protagonist Cher, for inspiration on how to be apart of this fashion movement– or should I say fashion regression?

I’ve always been the kind of girl who would pick earrings and mascara in the case that I could only chose one type of jewelry and one type of makeup to wear for the rest of my life. Recently, I have found myself being drawn to wearing more jewelry and experimenting with different styles. Initially I was hesitant to attempt the choker look, but after branching out of my comfort zone, I found that I really do prefer the tighter necklaces– they make everything more dressed up. Usually I will pair a choker with a longer necklace to create some contrast. Earrings are still my go to jewelry, but rather than sticking to the plain studs I usually wear, I catch myself in hoops rather often. Bracelets and rings are also great accessories if you know where to find them. On a day to day basis, I wear earrings, necklaces (always two or more), and a series of bracelets on either wrist. Rings have become trendy and popular, but as a writer, it’s difficult to work with them on my fingers. Sunglasses have also become one of my bigger interests as of late. H&M carries multiple styles, colors, and inexpensive sunglasses that are super cute and fun; but, if you’re like me, the best part about their sunglasses is that they’re easy and cheap to replace!

So far, spring is looking like it will be filled with lots of Adidas, jewelry, sunglasses, and sunshine! Ballet flats are also a cute, easy shoe that look much better than flips flops but are just as easy to put on. White jeans are a great essential to have for the season, especially if you live in California, and blazers/ light coats are necessary too. Let’s not forget it’s prom season, so keep your eyes open for unique, stylish, yet classy dresses!

P.S. With Spring Break around the corner, I will get a vacation from the craziness and time consumption of school; therefore, I will be able to get online and write more soon! Also, if you are in the Bay Area, or visiting for your Spring Break, I highly recommend making a trip to the de Young Museum and taking a spin through the Oscar de la Renta exhibit in San Francisco. Also, excuse the multitudes of snapchat filters in my images! 

 

H&M sunglasses.  
  

Choker with lengthier necklace, combo. 

  
H&M sunglasses, Urban Outfitters jean jacket– denim on denim!

  
Adidas and white jeans. 

  
Halter top with heavy gold “chains” necklace. 

   
Boyfriend jeans, adidas, oversized cardigan. 

  
Oscar de la Renta exhibit with mama 

Leave a comment